Apprenticeships The Facts

Put simply, an apprenticeship is a job with training. An apprentice is employed in a specific job role but receives training to help them develop the specialist skills and knowledge required to perform their role to a high standard.

Apprenticeships are available at three levels:

levels description
Put simply, an apprenticeship is a job with training
an apprentice on the phone

What's in an Apprenticeship?

An apprenticeship consists of a package of qualifications commonly referred to as a framework. Every apprenticeship is made up of the following:

National Vocational Qualification (NVQ)

Designed to develop the skills needed in the workplace, NVQs cover a multitude of different vocations and levels of work. Each NVQ is made up of a number of units of competence that set out what an individual must be able to do in a given area and to what standard in order to achieve the apprenticeship.

Functional Skills (Maths and English)

A compulsory part of the apprenticeship that aims to develop the core skills of maths and English – vital to employers looking for individuals with a fully rounded education.

Technical Certificate

A knowledge-based qualification that is delivered alongside the NVQ. Technical Certificates support the learning required for apprentices to achieve their NVQs.

Personal, Learning and Thinking Skills (PLTS)

Designed to equip young people with skills required for employment and lifelong learning. This element is normally covered through observation and question and answer exercises with your child’s assessor. There are six aims within this section that cover the following: creative thinkers, reflective learners, self managers, team workers, independent enquirers and effective participators.

Jargon Buster!

The world of apprenticeships is littered with phrases and terminology that can, at times, seem like another language. To help get you through this minefield, we’ve put a jargon buster together to make it all seem a little clearer.

FRAMEWORKA document that all colleges, schools and training providers use to make sure that apprenticeship programmes are consistent with national standards. It contains all of the important information about each framework, its purpose, levels and job roles.
UNITAn apprenticeship is made up of individual elements called ‘units’, all of which you will need to complete to achieve your qualification. For example, as part of a health and social care apprenticeship, you may take units on safeguarding or dementia awareness.
PATHWAYSome apprenticeships offer specialist options designed for specific careers. For example, a Children and Young People’s Workforce apprenticeship has teaching assistant and childcare pathways.
LEVEL 2/3/4By giving all courses a ‘level’, it allows you to compare different qualifications according to how advanced they are. There are nine levels in total. A Levels, for example, are Level 3 qualifications – the same as an Advanced Apprenticeship.
FUNCTIONAL SKILLSCovers maths, English and ICT (computer skills). These form an important part of your apprenticeship as they are skills that employers need alongside your knowledge of the job that you do and the practical skills you have developed.